NBB elects diverse industry leaders

By | January 01, 2009
The biodiesel industry recently chose new leadership representing producers making biodiesel from a variety of feedstocks. The National Biodiesel Board also reelected Minnesota farmer Ed Hegland to chair its governing board. Doug Smith of Baker Commodities and David Lyons of Louis Dreyfus Commodities are newly elected to the NBB board. Governing board elections were held in St. Louis during the NBB's November 2008 board meeting.

"I feel honored to serve on the governing board representing the rendering industry," Smith said. "I bring the perspective of using animal fats and recycled greases as feedstocks as the board increasingly focuses on diversification. Baker can also help bridge any gaps between the two industries."
Based in Los Angeles, Baker Commodities is an international company that sells fats and oils into biodiesel production streams or for other uses.

"Louis Dreyfus is committed to the production of biodiesel," said Lyons, who represents Louis Dreyfus in Washington, D.C. "In ways, it's a challenging time for the industry and we feel we can help the industry move forward through bringing forth the concerns of a production facility."

Louis Dreyfus is a worldwide merchant of agricultural and energy commodities. Its biodiesel plant in Indiana combines soybean crushing and biodiesel production facilities.
Hegland, of Appleton, Minn., was elected to the governing board in 2005, and will begin serving his second term as chairman. He represents the Minnesota Soybean Research & Promotion Council. "The diverse makeup of the governing board is a show of unity as the biodiesel industry continues to demonstrate that it is a sustainable, viable part of meeting the nation's energy needs," Hegland said.

Other officers reelected to the board include:

›Gary Haer, vice chairman, Renewable Energy Group Inc., Ames, Iowa

›Jim Conway, secretary, Griffin Industries, Cold Spring, Ky.

›Ed Ulch, treasurer, Iowa Soybean Association, Solon, Iowa.

The other governing board members are:

›Kris Kappenman, Archer Daniels Midland Co.

›Darryl Brinkmann, American Soybean Association (immediate past chair)

›Jeff Trucksess, Green Earth Fuels

›Bob Metz, South Dakota Soybean Research & Promotion Council

›Denny Mauser, Western Iowa Energy (reelected)

›Greg Anderson, Nebraska Soybean Board (reelected)

›David Womack, Tennessee Soybean Promotion Board (reelected)

›Robert Stobaugh, Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board (reelected)

›Greg Hopkins, U.S. Biofuels (reelected).
Array ( [REDIRECT_REDIRECT_HTTPS] => on [REDIRECT_REDIRECT_SSL_TLS_SNI] => biodieselmagazine.com [REDIRECT_REDIRECT_STATUS] => 200 [REDIRECT_HTTPS] => on [REDIRECT_SSL_TLS_SNI] => biodieselmagazine.com [REDIRECT_STATUS] => 200 [HTTPS] => on [SSL_TLS_SNI] => biodieselmagazine.com [HTTP_HOST] => biodieselmagazine.com [HTTP_CONNECTION] => Keep-Alive [HTTP_ACCEPT_ENCODING] => gzip [HTTP_X_FORWARDED_FOR] => [HTTP_CF_RAY] => 77277c2e0982801e-IAD [HTTP_X_FORWARDED_PROTO] => https [HTTP_CF_VISITOR] => {"scheme":"https"} [HTTP_USER_AGENT] => CCBot/2.0 (https://commoncrawl.org/faq/) [HTTP_ACCEPT] => text/html,application/xhtml+xml,application/xml;q=0.9,*/*;q=0.8 [HTTP_ACCEPT_LANGUAGE] => en-US,en;q=0.5 [HTTP_CF_CONNECTING_IP] => [HTTP_CF_IPCOUNTRY] => US [HTTP_CDN_LOOP] => cloudflare [PATH] => /sbin:/usr/sbin:/bin:/usr/bin [SERVER_SIGNATURE] =>
Apache/2.2.15 (CentOS) Server at biodieselmagazine.com Port 443
[SERVER_SOFTWARE] => Apache/2.2.15 (CentOS) [SERVER_NAME] => biodieselmagazine.com [SERVER_ADDR] => [SERVER_PORT] => 443 [REMOTE_ADDR] => [DOCUMENT_ROOT] => /datadrive/websites/biodieselmagazine.com/ [SERVER_ADMIN] => [email protected] [SCRIPT_FILENAME] => /datadrive/websites/biodieselmagazine.com/app/webroot/index.php [REMOTE_PORT] => 55858 [REDIRECT_QUERY_STRING] => url=articles/3048/nbb-elects-diverse-industry-leaders [REDIRECT_URL] => /app/webroot/articles/3048/nbb-elects-diverse-industry-leaders [GATEWAY_INTERFACE] => CGI/1.1 [SERVER_PROTOCOL] => HTTP/1.1 [REQUEST_METHOD] => GET [QUERY_STRING] => url=articles/3048/nbb-elects-diverse-industry-leaders [REQUEST_URI] => /articles/3048/nbb-elects-diverse-industry-leaders [SCRIPT_NAME] => /app/webroot/index.php [PHP_SELF] => /app/webroot/index.php [REQUEST_TIME_FLOAT] => 1669852223.838 [REQUEST_TIME] => 1669852223 )