National Biodiesel Accreditation Commission elects new leadership

By The National Biodiesel Board | February 21, 2012

Scott Fenwick, biofuels technical business manager for Inspectorate America Corp., and Dave Slade, director, technical services for Renewable Energy Group, were recently elected chairman and vice chairman, respectively, of the National Biodiesel Accreditation Commission.

“Producing high-quality biodiesel fuel is critical to the success of our industry,” said Fenwick. “The BQ-9000 program demonstrates our commitment to ensuring that U.S. biodiesel meets stringent quality standards.”

The NBAC is a 12-member commission that oversees the voluntary biodiesel quality assurance program known as BQ-9000. The program is a unique combination of the ASTM standard for biodiesel (D6751), and a quality systems program that includes storage, sampling, testing, blending, shipping, distribution and fuel management practices.

BQ-9000 has come to be viewed as the industry’s gold standard for biodiesel producers, marketers and laboratories. To date, 63 biodiesel producers, marketers and laboratories are BQ-9000-certified, with another 12 in the process. That represents 81 percent of the U.S. biodiesel production volume.

Last year the biodiesel industry produced a record-breaking 1 billion gallons of America's advanced biofuel. This demonstrates that the biodiesel tax incentive and the renewable fuel standard are working just as Congress envisioned. The industry is creating jobs, reducing our dependence on imported fuel and improving the environment.

BQ-9000 is open to any biodiesel manufacturer, marketer, distributor or laboratory involved with biodiesel and biodiesel blends in the U.S. and Canada. The NBAC includes two biodiesel producers; two biodiesel marketers; one representative from each of the following sectors—manufacturing, laboratory, petroleum industry, technical, consumer; one raw materials producer; one farmer; and one Canadian representative.

The NBAC leadership election was held on Jan. 12. The outgoing NBAC chairman is George Kopittke of Griffin Industries.  Fenwick previously serve as vice chairman.

Array ( [REDIRECT_REDIRECT_HTTPS] => on [REDIRECT_REDIRECT_SSL_TLS_SNI] => [REDIRECT_REDIRECT_STATUS] => 200 [REDIRECT_HTTPS] => on [REDIRECT_SSL_TLS_SNI] => [REDIRECT_STATUS] => 200 [HTTPS] => on [SSL_TLS_SNI] => [HTTP_USER_AGENT] => CCBot/2.0 ( [HTTP_ACCEPT] => text/html,application/xhtml+xml,application/xml;q=0.9,*/*;q=0.8 [HTTP_ACCEPT_LANGUAGE] => en-US,en;q=0.5 [HTTP_ACCEPT_ENCODING] => br,gzip [HTTP_HOST] => [HTTP_CONNECTION] => Keep-Alive [PATH] => /sbin:/usr/sbin:/bin:/usr/bin [SERVER_SIGNATURE] =>
Apache/2.2.15 (CentOS) Server at Port 443
[SERVER_SOFTWARE] => Apache/2.2.15 (CentOS) [SERVER_NAME] => [SERVER_ADDR] => [SERVER_PORT] => 443 [REMOTE_ADDR] => [DOCUMENT_ROOT] => /datadrive/websites/ [SERVER_ADMIN] => root@localhost [SCRIPT_FILENAME] => /datadrive/websites/ [REMOTE_PORT] => 39440 [REDIRECT_QUERY_STRING] => url=articles/8343/national-biodiesel-accreditation-commission-elects-new-leadership [REDIRECT_URL] => /app/webroot/articles/8343/national-biodiesel-accreditation-commission-elects-new-leadership [GATEWAY_INTERFACE] => CGI/1.1 [SERVER_PROTOCOL] => HTTP/1.1 [REQUEST_METHOD] => GET [QUERY_STRING] => url=articles/8343/national-biodiesel-accreditation-commission-elects-new-leadership [REQUEST_URI] => /articles/8343/national-biodiesel-accreditation-commission-elects-new-leadership [SCRIPT_NAME] => /app/webroot/index.php [PHP_SELF] => /app/webroot/index.php [REQUEST_TIME_FLOAT] => 1652738039.001 [REQUEST_TIME] => 1652738039 )